Batman V Superman : Dawn of Justice

image

It’s been 2 years since Zack Snyder revealed his pet project (which also happens to be a dream of every comic book fans), Batman V Superman : Dawn of Justice. The logo and the casting news broke the Internet. It had the plethora of opinions regarding lots of aspects of the movie :

Zack Snyder’s capabilities of making a serious movie. Hopes were high since he stayed true to original materials during Watchmen and 300.

Ben Affleck’s casting as The Batman given his bad portrayal of Daredevil(some believe it was bad but i adored its R rated version as production studio streamlined the movie to give it a shorter run time).

Gal Gadot’s as Wonder Woman as she is scrawny and the weirdest thing was that some were even saying that she doesn’t have the right sized boobs to play Wonder Woman. (this is some serious shitty thinking of some idiots , why don’t you find yourself a muck of drain water and try to swim in it)

And then came 2015, Warner Bros released the first trailer at Comic Con. And people thought they are going to see the Frank Miller version of the epic brawl of two titans on the silver screen. All the criticisms surrounding the Ben Affleck, Zack Snyder and Gal Gadot died and all the Marvel’s fans too.

Then Suicide Squad trailer came and the Batman atop Joker’s car scene killed whatever doubt was there. Wonder Woman’s standalone movie entered shooting and leaked images killed the Gal Gadot’s casting doubt. So the things were in favor of this movie.

Now the year is 2016 and the movie released all over the world. Being a follower of Rotten Tomatoes and Imdb, I was in quite a doubt is the movie that bad. It has 34% rating on Rating Tomatoes and faced quite a fall in its Imdb rating from 9.4(Wednesday night) to 7.7(Friday night) . But as promised to my Uncle and Aunt, I had booked the tickets. I was in confused state when I was going to the movie. Lots of expectations usually leads to an epic emotional crush. And that didn’t happen today. It was a mixed experience. I was happy seeing a Batman who is true to the original material and sad because incoherent storylines makes me feel sleepy and when you are a sleep deprived, you can sleep at any moment given chance.

The movie started with the Thomas and Martha Wayne murder scene and Bruce Wayne’s fall into the pit which is actually a cave full of bats. Then we go to Superman – Zod fight in the Metropolis which Bruce Wayne was experiencing first hand. And when he found a man who lost his both legs and a girl who just got orphaned during the neck-cracking finale of Man of Steel, he starts to think of a fight which will make Superman and the world more cognizant of his capabilities. Or, wait — is it because Wayne thinks everyone is too into authoritarianism to see how insane it is to trust Superman? Or maybe he simply can’t see past Lex Luthor’s (Jesse Eisenberg) tricks and an ongoing media narrative that Superman is dangerous. The rest of the movie is incoherent collection of fight scenes which are good enough to make us forget their deeper meaning. Getting hung up on themes in a movie like Batman v Superman is like going to a steakhouse and getting miffed with the asparagus. You only start to notice the little things if the stuff you’re there for isn’t up to par.

Therein is Snyder’s ultimate failure: His fight scenes featuring Batman and Superman are just fine. The two throw punches. Superman is stronger. Batman uses gadgets. It’s all set to a rock ‘n’ roll Hans Zimmer score that Snyder uses when he wants things to be dramatic. The weightless CGI-fest begins to bleed together and morph into an exercise in risk-averse repetition.

Megaton fight scenes are the reason people will put up with bad dialogue or bad logic in a film, so it’s an outright tragedy when Batman v Superman’s showdowns become as boring as the rest of it.

Jesse Eisenberg rocked as Lex Luthor in the beginning but later turned out to be a less frightening Joker without a motive.
image

Gadot’s Diana Prince is a spellbinding combination of Amazonian brawn and a gliding, regal sylph. I just wish she had more to do, because she’s excellent with what little material she’s given.
image

Affleck does a fine job portraying a weary, more brittle Dark Knight than we’re used to seeing. It helps that he’s guided by Jeremy Irons’s winsome Alfred. Snyder got the chemistry right between Bruce Wayne and Alfred. Jeremy Irons and Ben Affleck are the Alfred and Batman/Bruce Wayne we deserved.
image

As a spy in 2015’s The Man From U.N.C.L.E., Cavill showed us he can manifest all kinds of charm — but Batman v Superman doesn’t ask him to use that skill, or even to flash a wry smile, while playing the god from Krypton. Batman v Superman’s Superman is more weepy than inspiring.
image

What happens when the stuff that’s supposed to break you out of the monotony is just as monotonous as everything else?

image

Advertisements

Comic Books : A Personal recollection

image

Suppose you are a shy kid and don’t like human interaction much and in your house lots of people come and go, then you just sit inside your room and wait for them to leave the house so that you don’t have to give replies to their god-forsaken questions.

But what you do locked up in a room? If you have a sibling you talk to him / her but there is a limit to what people can talk to each other. In this situation, imagine if your parents are intellectuals then your houses are filled up with lots of books, magazines and papers. When you are young, you don’t care much about the world and nation affairs, you care about the comic book snippets, crosswords and puzzles in their supplement. That’s how I entered the world of comic books. But with snippets in the papers and magazines, to know the complete story you have to wait 2-3 months as they only have 4-5 scenes per day. And if you are blessed with impatience, then your next logical step is Comic Books.

I never liked going my village (reason : water of that region doesn’t suit me and I use to get skin infections there) but going to villages is sort of annual pilgrimage in India (till now), so I didn’t had much choice. But traveling was a long affair as it used to take 3 days to go there and I always bought 7-8 comics during that entire trip. And those books were mainly Naagraaj, Super Commando Dhruv, Parmanu and Tiranga. Raj comics was the publisher. I used to think they were the coolest superheroes. But in one summer, we went to Patna to meet my relatives, my aunt’s son had came for holidays from his engineering college back then and he was teaching me how to play bike racing games on PC. That was my entry to the world of video games (but we are going to focus on comic books here, video games in later posts most probably ). One day he was watching a movie on HBO, the display screen was black, someone was jumping here and there in a cool car with cape, Jim Carrey was being Jim Carrey in a green tight fitting suit and Tommy Lee Jones was dating two beautiful ladies. Nicole Kidman became my first love of my life. I would still like to marry her if she wants to marry someone 20 years younger than her. So I went and sat with him and I saw Batman Forever. That incident introduced me to the wonderful world of DC comics. After that I asked my parents to subscribe to HBO and Star Movies at home. And began watching all the movies day in day out. I watched James Bond’s movies, Steel, Power Rangers, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Centurion, Spider-Man, Iron Man and the list goes on. So Marvel Comics also happened. And in the holidays, I began to found out sitting and reading comics.

I started to find out the basic idea differences between DC and Marvel. DC is more realistic and true to engage your dark thoughts about the realism and the world. Marvel is about the Happy-go-lucky guys who sometimes get into difficult situations. In the same time, while on a trip to Tirupati, I read Karna’s and Rabindranth Tagore’s biographical graphic novel by Amar Chitra Katha.

That was my introduction to the world of Graphic novels. Definitions abound (a quick search on the internet will show you that), and are often confusing and contradicting. The Americans started calling this medium Graphic Novels and the Japanese Gekiga to differentiate it from comics and manga. It covers fiction as well as non-fiction, but is clearly meant for a mature audience. It’s all encompassing when it comes to genres. And its impact on pop-culture cannot be ignored.

So day by day, my obsession to these characters and storyline grew by leaps and bounds. I used to go through all the wiki and whatever I could find to learn about them.

With age, my fascination with sequential art remained undeterred and I felt myself gravitating towards stories of a higher literary calibre, told with an economy of words and deftness of brush strokes. These were stories that painted a broad canvas of human emotions in a way that I found very different from the more conventional text-only prose.

I had come a long way since then. Read a lot of comics, graphic novels, Mangas. With these books, I think English has become my first and go-to language. Now even I dream in English also.

Now a days I am reading The Dark Knight III The Master Race . Frank Miller and his talented team is bringing out the real depth in the Batman story line.

Now I believe I had given you enough motivation to start reading Graphic Novels. Fans of Tarantino and Rodriguez would love to read Lone Wolf and Cub – a staggering epic created by writer Kazuo Koike and artist Goseki Kojima in the seventies. These 28 volumes of manga (a total of 8700+ pages) are set in Tokugawa era Japan and tell the tale of a master swordsman and his young son. This masterpiece has served as an inspiration for some of the most brilliant moments in world cinema over the last 30 years.

Based on Paul Auster’s story City of Glass (from his acclaimed The New York Trilogy), City of Glass: The Graphic Novel serves as a successful example of an adaptation carried out by independent artists of a previously published piece of prose. David Mazzucchelli and Paul Karasik’s artwork takes the story to a dimension the original author could have never imagined possible.

And then there is A Contract with God by Will Eisner, the book that cemented the term Graphic Novel into modern lexicon. It is a collection of short stories set in a Depression-era-affected Jewish community of the 1930s.

Other interesting titles for collectors – Blankets by Craig Thompson, Bone by Jeff Smith, The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller, Akira by Katsuhiro Otomo, Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi and Maus by Art Spiegelman.

But make sure you read Sandman by Neil Gaiman. I still hadn’t gone through it but it is on my list. After the college, it is becoming little tough as most graphic novels are printed and published abroad they can leave a sizeable hole in your pocket. And I have lots of bills to play.

So, go to a bookstore and give them a try. They aren’t bad and they are miles better than the cartoons of today like Chota Bheem. Rahul Gandhi likes Chota Bheem and you don’t want that your kid also ends up like Rahul Gandhi.
image

image

image

Now the regular sections.
Music videos which is on my Playlist now a days.
Tu Mera Nahin

Ghost Town : Madonna feat Taylor Swift

In other news,
My faith in humanity is shaken. Aargh!